Talented youngsters press their claims

Talented Lynbrook youngsters Raheel Bostan (left) and Odil Perera have been named in the Southern Pioneers'' initial 24-man squad. 189855 Picture: GARY SISSONS

By Nick Creely

The Southern Pionners have announced its under-16 and under-14 male squads ahead of the Youth Premier League season in 2019/20, with 48 youngsters across the region picked across the two initial squads.

The Youth Premier League – which was launched last season – is a revamped state underage pathway program aimed to improved the experience for players and align the pathway with the Victorian Premier Cricket competition. The program is split into a Stars and Renegades league, with the Pioneers set to now go through a rigorous trial progress with the final 13-man squad to be announced in the coming months.

Here is the 24-man squad for the under-16s:

Berwick – Brodie Herkess, Isaiah Jassal, Ben McDonald, Lachlan Paul, Ethan Stones

Berwick Springs – Bailey Paroissien, Josh Sawrey

Buckley Ridges – Aaron Abeyesekera, Ifthikar Ahmad, Trishane De Silva, Hivin Singappulige

Cranbourne – Vithum Sathyajith

Dandenong West – Max Marinic

Lynbrook – Raheel Bostan, Odil Perera, Akshjit Sammi

Narre North – Inuka Wickramasinghe

Narre South – Harkirat Bajwa, Rohan Chandel, Disen Perera, Omair Rana, Kushan Samarakoon, Zac Tumino

Noble Park – Neil D’Souza

Here is the 24-man squad for the under-14s:

Berwick – Aiden French, Jude Owen, Abhijit Reddy, Crandel Siegelwin

Berwick Springs – Tarith Colombage

Buckley Ridges – Alex Chandler, Kamran Malik, Nigel Munasinghe

Cranbourne – Harshit Chadha, Tajbir Powar

Doveton North – Joyen Fernandopulle, Aakif Ramees

Hallam Kalora Park – Jacob Noble

Lynbrook – Vyomesh Chinnappa Raja, Tanush Nandini, Ronit Rehal, Sai Sehgal, Shaun Thomas

Narre South – Ethan de Vries, Ethan Kolaritsch, Adam Snelling

Noble Park – Prabhav Mishra, Archie Stefan


Your first stop before buying a home. View the whole picture.